Monday Yummies

Thanks again to anyone reading these first few posts after my long, blog-less run.  I mentioned at the end of my last post that I’ve really been enjoying cooking this past month.  This is a first time recipe blog post, so please bear with me.  I’m going to share a recipe I made tonight for Cauliflower Crust Pizza.

I have to admit, I was a little nervous trying to wrap my head around how I could make crust from cauliflower.  I’ve made cauliflower before and LOVE cauliflower fried rice, but this seemed difficult.  What surprised me was how easy this was to make!  I generally am a healthy eater when it comes to meals, but being a teacher on summer vacation, I have been indulging and would like to be more proactive about eating a little healthier.  I wanted to try this pizza for a while, and am so glad I did.  I’ll share two versions, one that I made for my husband who is dairy-free and one including dairy for myself.

This is what I gathered to make the pie:

  • 1 Head of Cauliflower
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 1/4 cups of Part-Skim Mozzarella for mine/Daiya Mozzarella for my non-dairy hubs
  • 1 can tomato sauce
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Cooking Spray
  • Parmesan Cheese (for mine)
  • Red Pepper Flakes
  • Grape Tomatoes
  • Fresh Basil
  • Garlic

 

I made two different pizzas and used approx. 1 head of cauliflower for each.  Here is the process and photos:

  1. First, I preheated the oven to 425 degrees.
  2. After washing and drying the cauliflower, I cut the stem and removed the leaves.  I grabbed a box grater and large bowl and grated 2 1/2 cups of cauliflower.
  3. Next, I microwaved the bowl of cauliflower for 8 minutes.
  4. After giving it a minute to cool, I combined the grated cauliflower with 1 beaten egg, 1 tablespoon of parmesan, 1 cup of part-skim mozzarella cheese, and a little salt and pepper.  For the non dairy batch, I simply left out the parmesan and used the Daiya as a mozzarella substitute.
  5. After mixing, I spread the dough mix on a rectangular pizza stone.  I sprayed the top of the dough with oil and baked it for 15 minutes.
  6. While the dough was baking, I measured out 1/4 cup of cheese/Daiya, cut up a few grape tomatoes, grabbed the crushed red pepper flakes, opened the can of sauce, and thinly sliced a clove of garlic.
  7. When 15 minutes were up, I took the golden dough out of the oven and placed the ingredients on top.
  8. I placed the dough back into the oven for another 10 minutes to finish cooking. After removing it, I added a little fresh basil.

 

The non-dairy pizza wasn’t as melty/bubbly, but Matt loved it.  I also noticed the consistency of the dairy pizza was a little stronger.  It was flavorful, cripsy, and filling.  I ate mine with a small side salad.  I will definitely be making another in the near future and would like to try some different sauces/toppings.

If you’ve ever made a cauliflower crust pizza, please feel free to share your recipe/twist on it!  I would love to make this again.  And as always, I’ll end with a quote:

cooking.jpg

 

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

