Love and Gratitude

grateful.jpg

To start, I want to again thank anyone who is taking the time to read.  I hope that this is helping others in some way, shape, or form.

Would love to hear anyone’s answers in the comments section! Going to start again with questions for readers:

1. If you are a food-prepper, when/what do you prepare for your week?  I’m going to talk about how I (try) to prepare my own meals for the week.

2. What are your fitness and exercise goals?  I’m working towards something pretty big that I will get into later as well…

3.  What is your favorite birthday meal or place to go to celebrate? Being that it is my birthday weekend (woo!), I’d love to hear what your birthday indulgences are! For me, my dinner of choice with my family is almost always at Pancho Villas in Huntington Village.  It’s been around since the 70’s and my parents actually use to go on dates there!  I’ve been going there since I was small and I always enjoy their guacamole and fajitas.  They also recently updated the entire restaurant and bar.  My birthday drink of choice is their legendary margarita.   I also was lucky to celebrate locally with friends today and had an amazing brunch at Das Biergarten in Atlantic Beach.  Their mimosas are wonderful.

As for my workouts this week, I continued to follow with my calendar with a few modifications.  I had to roll with the punches due to some changes in the weather and birthday plans, but I made it work.  Highlights for me were a total body conditioning class at my gym that definitely worked every muscle in my body that I’ve been ignoring for a while, a nice morning run out at my parent’s this morning, and a great yoga class yesterday. Our theme for yoga yesterday was love and gratitude which helped me reflect on what I am trying to accomplish. I’m really grateful that I am finding these outlets and it has served as a great distraction for all that I’ve been anxious about.  This Tuesday, I’m going to see the otolaryngologist about my damaged vocal cords to see what is causing those issues and how to repair them. Hoping that it’s not complicated so I can just focus on the thyroid, so we will see.  Going back to love and gratitude, I’m really fortunate to have my family and friends who have been so supportive. Looking forward to seeing some of them today!! ❤

Meal Prep is one of my topics this week.  As for my own prep, I usually take some time mornings to prepare breakfasts, lunches, and afternoon snacks for my drive home.

IMG_3228.JPG

Breakfasts:  I put my smoothie ingredients in ziplock bags…one bag for each morning.  These bags include banana, greens, and some kind of berry (usually blueberry, strawberry, or blackberry).  I put the ingredients in the Ninja bullet attachment the night before with coconut milk, chia, and sometimes a little peanut butter or cinnamon.

Lunches:  I used to do the fruity greek yogurt.  However, I’ve been noticing how much sugar is one those little containers and I have made the switch to plain greek yogurt with high protein/low sugar granola and berries.  I also have veggies (peppers, cucumber, tomatoes) with spicy hummus.

Snacks:  My snacks for the commute home this week include a choice of Cliff bars, green apples, and walnuts.  I also try to put a vitamin in there since my classroom has been a germ factory these past few weeks.

…and lots and lots of water!  

Earlier, I asked about fitness and exercise goals…I’m a little nervous to be committing to the goal I just decided on. I am already pretty much committed to it, so I’m going to just go ahead and put it out there.  This May, there is a Spartan Race at Citi Field.  Matt did it last year and while it is pretty intense, it’s one of the easier races and I really want to do it!  Plus, Matt was able to score me a free race in a group he is a part of online for Spartan races.  A very nice man donated his free race to me after Matt told him my story and how I would like to do one.  So a big thank you to that nice man!

To end this post, I have a really great quote about gratitude that I feel sums up how I am feeling right now and I hope that others can recognize in their own lives.

Happiness-gratitude-quote-picture.jpg

Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “Love and Gratitude

  1. You are doing great!!! To answer your question about meal prepping. I make big crockpot recipes on the weekends and have left overs for lunch throughout the week. I need to buy more containers so I can just seperate the portions right away instead of doing it in the morning. Here are some of my favorite recipes:
    http://kristineskitchenblog.com/easy-slow-cooker-chicken-taco-soup/

    http://dearcrissy.com/clean-eating-turkey-chilli/#_a5y_p=5062318

    http://www.fitmomangelad.com/rustic-turkey-veggie-soup/

    Like

    1. Thank you, Cat! The Crock Pot is truly the best. Thank you so much for the awesome recipes…I am a big fan of soups and chilis, so I am definitely going to try these!!!

      Like

  2. Hi!! Great job and happiest birthday!! ! I’ve been trying to meal prep on Sundays. I make a frittata and cut it in quarters so I have 4 breakfasts and I also make about 6 hard boiled eggs for snacks and for breakfast on the last work day of the week. I also want to make individual frittatas in muffin tins, might try that for next week. I always have a cut up apple with cinnamon, carrot sticks (I usually peel and cut enough for 2-3 days). Sometimes I’ll buy the individual guacamole packs from Trader Joes or Costco and dip the carrots and veggies in that. I’ve been making a big batch of turkey/chicken meatballs for the week also, they are great in salads, for a quick dinner with pasta sauce and spaghetti squash (I cook my squash in the microwave so it’s super easy, you just poke holes all over it, in the microwave for 5 min intervals for 15 mins, it will be SUPER hot so be careful taking it out, then I cut it in half width wise, you get longer strands that way) And I make shredded chicken in my pressure cooker to throw into salads or to have as quick tacos for dinner. Whatever meatballs or left over chicken I have by Wednesday night I portion out and throw into the freezer. Meal prepping takes a lot of time, but it’s so helpful to have it all ready! My big goal that I’m scared to say out loud, is training for the 2017 NYC full Marathon…. we’ll see how that goes! Keep going, you’re amazing! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Marissa ❤ You're amazing and I'm SO excited for you and your goals!!!!!! I need to try the Frittata idea. Love hearing from you and excited to keep in touch with our progress 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

